How Does Alimony Work?

When a couple decides to part ways, one of the most challenging aspects is figuring out how to divide finances. One of the ways in which this is done is through alimony payments. Alimony, also known as spousal support, is a court-ordered payment made by one spouse to the other after a divorce or separation.

How to Calculate Spousal Support

When determining alimony, factors such as marriage duration, income disparity, earning capacity, and financial needs are considered. In cases where divorcing spouses cannot agree on alimony terms, a court assesses factors such as marriage duration, income, assets, age, health, and contributions to the marriage to reach a decision.

Types of Alimony

However, there are different types of alimony, and it can be confusing to understand which one applies to your situation. In this blog post, we will go over the different types of alimony and how they work.

1. Temporary Alimony

Temporary alimony, also known as pendente lite alimony, is awarded during the divorce proceedings. It is meant to provide financial support to the lower-earning spouse until the divorce is finalized. Once the divorce is final, the temporary alimony payments usually end.

2. Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is awarded to the lower-earning spouse to help them become self-sufficient. This type of alimony is usually awarded for a specific period, during which the lower-earning spouse is expected to acquire the necessary skills or education to support themselves. The duration of rehabilitative alimony is determined by the court.

3. Reimbursement Alimony

Reimbursement alimony is awarded to a spouse who supported the other spouse through education or training that resulted in increased earning potential. This type of alimony is meant to reimburse the supporting spouse for the expenses incurred during the education or training period.

4. Permanent Alimony

Permanent alimony is awarded to a spouse who is unable to support themselves financially after the divorce. This type of alimony is usually awarded in long-term marriages where one spouse has been financially dependent on the other for a significant period. The amount and duration of permanent alimony are determined by the court.

5. Lump-Sum Alimony

Lump-sum alimony is a one-time payment made to the lower-earning spouse. This type of alimony is usually awarded in situations where the court determines that a long-term financial obligation is not appropriate. The lump-sum payment is usually a fixed amount and is not modifiable.

Alimony Modifications

Alimony orders can be modified or terminated if there are changes in circumstances, such as remarriage, cohabitation, significant income changes, or achievement of rehabilitative goals.

Contact Our Spousal Support Lawyers

Understanding the different types of alimony is crucial when going through a divorce or separation. Each type of alimony serves a different purpose and is awarded based on the specific circumstances of the case. If you need help navigating the complex world of alimony, Davis & Davis, P.C. can help. Our experienced attorneys can guide you through the spousal support process and ensure that your rights are protected. Contact us today for a consultation.

To arrange a consultation with our Boston spousal support lawyers, call us at (978) 228-2262 or contact us online.

Related Posts
  • What to Look for in a Top Rated Sexual Harassment Lawyer Read More
  • Building a Relationship with a Family Law Attorney Can Save You Time, Money and Stress Read More
  • Options in a Massachusetts Child Custody Settlement Read More